Testosterone Replacement Therapy is Proven Safe For Prostate

February 08, 2011

A new study has shown that hypergonadal patients undergoing testosterone replacement therapy (TRT) do not experience increased risk of worsening prostate health and safety parameters compared with eugonadal age-matched controls. Hypergonadal patients (n = 154; baseline average age of 58 years) receiving injectable testosterone undecanoate (1000 mg) and 160 eugonadal subjects with a mean age of 59 years were monitored at baseline and 6-monthly intervals over a period of 42 months. At baseline, hypergonadal patients had lower prostate-specific antigen and prostate volumes (0.68 mcg/L and 25.6 mL vs. 2.42 mg/L and 38.4 mL, respectively, in the control group). TRT did not worsen lower urinary tract symptoms, benign prostatic hyperplasia risk or adverse events such as acute urinary retention or prostate surgery (Yassin, A.A. et al. 4th World Congress of Controversies in Urology (CURy) (Jan 27-30, Paris) 2011, Abstract).

For more information I recommend you to visit the references below.

References:

  1. http://www.ttmed.com/urology/News.aspx?ID_VD=G9mBRxWnTLY%3d&ID_CNT=z22qM%2bI5JIWirG5G33lOng%3d%3d
  2. http://isitlowtinfo.com/2011/05/23/myths-about-testosterone-therapy/
  3. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1472883/

About yuan ade sukma, MD

I'm an Indonesian doctor. I Believe that science and knowledge do not belong to anyone in the world. Science and knowledge is meant to be shared to make the world a better place to live. But if you find any material posted here is violating any copyrights, feel free to contact me and I will delete that. I believe that someday my blog can change the world. I BELIEVE in the POWER of WORDS! Do you..?
Gallery | This entry was posted in Andrology Latest Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Testosterone Replacement Therapy is Proven Safe For Prostate

  1. Pingback: Testosterone Replacement Has Little Effect on prostate gland in older men | Yuan Ade Sukma's Blog

  2. superlative blog you bear

  3. Just post, I liked its content and style. I found this blog upon Google and also have now additional this in order to my personal book marks. I’ll be certain to go to once again quickly.

  4. Thanks for this blog post, We loved its style and content. I came across this web site on the internet and today have additional it in order to my favourites features checklist. I’ll be certain to come once again quickly.

Leave a Reply

